Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Help me support my mother’s defense by donating today.

Last Thursday my mother went for her preliminary arraignment and received the official charges set against her. To summarize, 3 charges of each:

  • Forgery
  • Identity Theft
  • Use of “Access Device” without Authorization
  • Receiving Stolen Property
  • Theft by Deception/False Impersonation

I am including copies of the court documents so that you may see this is for real. I blacked-out sensitive information (such as the name of her accuser) and, where applicable, replaced it with a description of the removed material (“Plaintiff name”). 

Snapshot, Charges1edited Snapshot, Charges2edited Snapshot, Charges3edited

Now that my mother has officially been read the charges against her she will need to appear in court on Tuesday, February 11, 2014 at 10:00AM EST. An “unsecured” bail has been set to $5,000. An unsecured bail essentially means that the defendant shows good faith and, upon promising to show at the hearing, is released without an upfront bail payment. However, if the defendant does not show at the appointed court hearing she must pay the full value of the unsecured bail (USlegal.com). Here is the notice of my mother’s hearing.

Snapshot, Hearing DateEdited

Between the retainer fee and the court representation fee, my mother’s lawyer fees already exceed $5,000. She missed several hours of work for her arraignment, will miss several more for her hearing, and will likely miss even more in order to meet with the lawyer. As I mentioned before, this would be financially challenging for anyone but it is especially difficult for my mother because the last two years have seen her financial stability diminished by a massive flood and a robbery at her home.

I am collecting money to support my mother because she does not deserve this hardship. I live 3,000 miles away and I am no lawyer. She is going at this alone, and moral support is about the only thing I can offer. However, with your help I can also offer financial assistance. I am not asking for charity – I am asking for a community effort. I am asking for your effort.

689 Facebook Friends. 126 blog followers. If each donates just $10, that is $8,150 – more than enough to fund her defense.

Donate today.

