Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Same Love came out last July before Referendum 74 in Washington. I have been listening to it for a while now, but the other day it just hit me: this song is representative of so much power. Power in those who wish to oppress people’s rights. Power in stereotypes. Power in expectations. Power in generalization. But more importantly, power in freedom. Power in justice. Power in equality. Power in youth. We will not take it anymore. We will not back down. Change is coming. I know it, because I know us. This will happen.

When I was in the 3rd grade
I thought that I was gay
Cause I could draw, my uncle was
And I kept my room straight
I told my mom, tears rushing down my face
She’s like, “Ben, you’ve loved girls since before Pre-K!”
Tripping, yeah, I guess she had a point, didn’t she?
A bunch of stereotypes all in my head
I remember doing the math, like
“Yeah, I’m good at little league”
A pre-conceived idea of what it all meant
For those that like the same sex had the characteristics…

We are a generation. We are coming.

Not the Lesbian.

Not the Gay.

Not the Bisexual.

Not the Transgender.

Not the Queer.

Not the Questioning.

Not the Intersexual.

Not the Asexual.

Not the Ally.

Not the Pansexual, Omnisexual, Trisexual, Transvestite, Polyamourus. Not the other Stereotypes, Labels, Categories, Definitions.

We are coming. ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRZWXYZ. All. Everyone.

One Love. Same Love.

Humanity.

