Tags

, , , , , , ,

This reminds me a lot of Wade Davis who came to speak to Gettysburg a few weeks ago.  Unfortunately, I was busy and I never sat down to fully reflect on that experience and so never blogged about it as I had hoped. But I am so happy to see more athletes lifting the velvet curtain. This is what we need – role models for youth who stand up and fight injustice.

NBA player Jason Collins says he is gay – The Magazine – SI.com.

Some of my favorite lines:

The relief I felt was a sweet release. Imagine you’re in the oven, baking. Some of us know and accept our sexuality right away and some need more time to cook. I should know — I baked for 33 years.

I’m learning to embrace the puzzle that is me.

A college classmate tried to persuade me to come out then and there. But I couldn’t yet. My one small gesture of solidarity was to wear jersey number 98 with the Celtics and then the Wizards. The number has great significance to the gay community. One of the most notorious antigay hate crimes occurred in 1998. Matthew Shepard, a University of Wyoming student, was kidnapped, tortured and lashed to a prairie fence. He died five days after he was finally found. That same year the Trevor Project was founded. This amazing organization provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention to kids struggling with their sexual identity. Trust me, I know that struggle. I’ve struggled with some insane logic. When I put on my jersey I was making a statement to myself, my family and my friends.

Less than three miles from my apartment, nine jurists argued about my happiness and my future.

Still, if I’m up against an intolerant player, I’ll set a pretty hard pick on him. And then move on.

