Tags

, , , ,

I recently learned I will be the Service Coordinator for my 4K ride!  I will be working with the 4K staff and my fellow riders to plan and facilitate community service projects throughout the trip.  I asked a few people what riders have done in the past, and there seem to be a number of recurring events such as:

  • Cooking dinners at Hope Lodges (supportive places run by the American Cancer Society where Cancer patients often stay during long treatments/recovery)
  • Helping local support organizations with various tasks
  • Participating in a blood drive as a group
  • Making cards for cancer patients
  • Visiting Camp Mak-A-Dream
  • Charity car washes

There is a new addition to service starting this year, but I have not yet been told what it will be.  I am really excited to be in this position because I love service and I think it will be extremely fulfilling to plan and execute team events.  I won’t lie though, it is a little scary.  Especially because I know I need to plan things this semester while I also train, fund raise, and try to graduate!

As always, remember to donate!

