Tags

, ,

For an economist this book is intriguing but not all that novel. as such, if you’re trained in economics I would only rate it at 7 out of 10. Where this book can be remarkable is its ability to show the reader how an economist thinks and what insights the study of economics brings to everyday life.   I never purposely “thought like an economist” until I stumbled into my first economics course in college, just as most people never consciously think like an economist. Why? Because often “to think like an economist” is to think “selfishly.” But the truth is economics and morals exist peacefully side by side regardless of your morals because economists simply explain the world as it is rather than as we would like it to be.

I highly recommend this to anyone who is not very familiar with economics, especially anyone with strong ideological views on anything from business to morals to parenting.

