Tags

, ,

It’s good to eat with friends!

One of the things I love most about living in Farmhouse this summer is the spacious kitchen and the abundance of culinary adventures that come with it.  I really don’t know too much about cooking other than a few basics (mostly breakfast related) so every new meal is a new experience.  It’s even more exhilarating because the stakes are high: when I’ve cooked something new its been for handful of people, not just myself.

I started out with a simple spaghetti dinner not long after moving in and, with the help of Jasmine’s yummy sauce, it turned out nicely.  No problem, easy stuff.  Memorial day brought about the challenge of cooking on Harry’s charcoal grill, no small feat for someone who has never used a charcoal grill before.  Looking back I have decided we likely need higher quality charcoal, because the coals refused to completely char.  Oh well, with some work and a little luck everything turned out well and we had a nice dinner of BBQ chicken, hot dogs, veggie burgers, and salad.  Oh, and I made the BBQ sauce myself 🙂

Last night was the first major task: vegetarian lasagna.  Jasmine had three friends over and Brittany came as well so I was cooking for 8.  Lasagna is not really the hardest thing to make, but its nothing like spaghetti you just pop on the stove.  I was a little worried and a little stressed in the kitchen when my noodles did not want to soften up, but in the end everything worked out well.  I even made homemade garlic bread to match!  With a little wine thrown in I couldn’t have been happier with the result 🙂

Summer in Farmhouse is turning out to be a wonderful time, and I can’t wait to continue my adventures in the kitchen.  I plan to pursue a number of other interesting recipes including: chicken alfredo, chicken parmesan, broccoli and cheese soup, chili, shepard’s pie, beef stew, homemade mac and cheese, some stir fry, and hopefully many more!

Let’s hope it all turns out well…

