Tags

,

So it’s Tuesday night and I have spent over a week in Denmark since my second arrival on Sunday the 21st.  I have had all my classes twice, met many DIS students, explored central Copenhagen, met a few Danes and internationals, traveled outside the city, and done a number of other interesting things.  Life in Denmark is different from the States, but not necessarily in the ways you might think.  Everyday life is not all that different from what you might expect commuting into an American city (albeit much better public transit).  So, since I am here to study, let’s talk about DIS and classes…

DIS is composed of almost entirely American students studying in the heart of Copenhagen.  The school facilities are a bit odd by our standards, but excellent nonetheless.  DIS offers a lot of the same amenities as Gettysburg College: tutoring, extra-curriculars, counseling, even free condoms.  The interns all seem wonderful and I am yet to meet an unpleasant Dane.  Things are looking good!

Classes have been a mixed bag.  My core course, Sustainable Development, is Randy’s ES 196 all over again.  Same material types, same frustrating class structure, same lack of knowledge among students.  It’s really not a higher level course.  This will be the third time I’m taking basically the same class (ES 121 too)!  I will survive though, and at least it should be easy.  Renewable Energy Systems I’m not sure about yet.  The professor is interesting but seems very unorganized, which frustrates me.  At this point I feel it could go either way, but at least the (sadly, group based) project focusing on a Danish case study should prove interesting!

My third and fourth classes are much more promising.  Environmental Economics at first worried me due to a lack of economics background in the students.  However, the professor is organized, helpful, kind, and obviously quite capable.  I expect good things.  Muslims in the West is similar: the professor is very good and he teaches a lot while still demanding our participation.  Essentially, these professors should provide the high-quality education I’ve come to expect from the Gettysburg curriculum.  Well, parts of it at least 😉

