So Celina came down to stay overnight last week.  It sucked that I had a test in the morning and had to study Wednesday night/get up early Thursday.  But it was cool because she got a chance to witness a class and see a little bit of college.  I definitely want to bring her back again next spring and dedicate more time to her visit, but this was a good start.  She is only a sophomore after all; she has awhile until she needs to decide where she’s going.

The best part about her visit was definitely just catching up.  College keeps me pretty separated from my family and friends…that’s one thing I really don’t like about college.  Of course a good part of it is my fault…I’m really not good at keeping in touch with people.  I should work on this; I want to talk to my fam more, especially my cousins.  Being the oldest I feel I have a such a great opportunity to make a difference for them.  Am I failing to be the cousin I should be?  Especially since they struggle so much with the situations they’re thrust into.  But then again, I’m a 20-year-old college student.  Is it really my responsibility to be the resource for them?  No, it’s not, and I need to remember that.

Anyways, it was very nice catching up with Celina and getting updated on some of the stuff going on in Lebanon.  I am going to make a conscious effort to stay more connected to my friends and family…both back home and here.  Because I can’t even use distance as an excuse…sometimes I go weeks without talking to some of my friends on campus!

